Types of Polish higher education

The Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in Poland are divided into state (public) and private (non-public) institutions. There are two main categories of higher education institutions: university-type and non-university institutions. In the university-type HEIs, at least one unit is authorised to confer the academic degree of doctor (PhD), i.e. it offers at least one doctoral program. The Degrees and Titles Committee grants this authorization assessing i.a. unit research activities, achievements with regard to training of faculty staff, scientific achievements, research base, as well as the quality of education (a separate opinion of the Polish Accreditation Committee on the quality of education at the unit is required).